P.E.A.R.S – Prospective Effectiveness Assessment for Road Safety

Almost every new car today is equipped with a number of different driver assistance systems, whether relatively simple lane change warning systems or automatic emergency brake assist systems, which are designed to prevent accidents in urban traffic or mitigate collisions. In addition, autonomous driving, especially on motorways, is already within sight and will come in the (near) future.

The question that inevitably arises for many engineers is the influence of these systems on real road traffic. To what extent is the increasing market penetration noticeable in traffic and to what extent do the systems prevent accidents and injuries? The latter question aims at the pre-crash phase, i.e. the time before the first collision of an impending accident – a question that cannot be answered immediately due to a lack of data in real road traffic.

To address these questions, an international consortium, P.E.A.R.S (“Prospective Effectiveness Assessment for Road Safety”), was founded in 2012. It consists primarily of partners from the automotive industry, scientific institutions and universities (e.g. TU Dresden). The aim is to develop an understandable, reliable and accepted simulation method for the quantitative evaluation of accident-preventing technologies / driver assistance systems. In addition, an ISO standard for the predictive evaluation of the road safety of active driver assistance systems installed in the vehicle is to be developed – also here with the inclusion of virtual simulation methods, which should enable a cost-effective evaluation.

The P.E.A.R.S. consortium is divided into a total of four sub-working groups, whereby since November of last year I have been allowed to participate in Working Group A (WGA) “Methods, models and effectiveness calculation”. The main aim of WGA is to answer the following three questions:

  1. Definition of evaluation targets and a basis for comparison (“baseline”) for evaluation
  2. Implementation of virtual simulation models
  3. Development of metrics for estimating the effectiveness of safety systems

Since I am still in the process of getting an overview of the already extensive work of working group A, I cannot define my exact topic at this point yet. However, it seems that in the WGA – similar to SePIA – I will be dealing with the comparability / extrapolation of simulation results for other regions / countries.

So far the work in this extremely international consortium gives me a lot of pleasure and I am looking forward to report already in March from the General Assembly in Frankfurt. For further information / future publications, a regular visit to the P.E.A.R.S homepage at www.pearsinitiative.com is definitely recommended!

SePIA: A scenario-based platform for the inspection of automated driving functions

As part of my work at the Chair of Automotive Engineering at TU Dresden, I am involved in several projects dealing with the assessment of highly automated driving functions. One of these is SePIA (scenario-based platform for the inspection of automated driving functions), which is funded by the European Union and in which a large number of Saxon project partners are on board.

The background of SePIA is, that vehicles with automated driving functions have to reach at least the driving abilities of an attentive human driver – and this over their entire lifetime. The main objective of SePIA is therefore to create a scenario platform with real driving scenarios derived from accident databases, accident reconstructions and Naturalistic Driving Studies (NDS). With the help of the platform, highly automated driving functions can then be assessed with regard to their functionality both during development and, for example, during a later general inspection. A special feature here is, that the scenarios presented should also be assessed with regard to their (objective) criticality and their representativeness for other regions / countries.

My field of application now lies primarily in the representativeness check. Together with the traffic accident research at the TU Dresden we want to develop a methodology with which we can determine the validity of the platform / the scenario catalogue for other areas and countries – a not trivial undertaking, since in the platform samples / data from most different surveys are brought together.

P.E.A.R.S – Prospective Effectiveness Assessment for Road Safety

Fast jeder Neuwagen ist heutzutage mit einer Reihe an verschiedensten Fahrerassistenzsystemen ausgestattet, seien es relativ einfache Spurwechselwarner oder bereits automatische Notbremsassistenten, die Unfälle im Stadtverkehr verhindern bzw. Kollisionen abmildern sollen. Zudem ist das autonome Fahren, vor allem auf Autobahnen, bereits in Sichtweite und wird in (naher) Zukunft kommen.

Die Frage, die sich somit unausweichlich vielen Ingenieuren stellt, ist die nach dem Einfluss der Systeme auf den realen Straßenverkehr. Wie sehr macht sich die steigende Marktdurchdringung im Verkehrsgeschehen bemerkbar und in welchen Maße verhindern die Systeme Unfälle und Verletzungen? Letztere Frage zielt dabei auf die Pre-Crash-Phase ab, d.h. auf die Zeit vor der ersten Kollision eines drohenden Unfalles – eine Frage, die sich aufgrund fehlender Daten im realen Straßenverkehr nicht sofort beantworten lässt.

Um sich diesen Fragen zu widmen, hat sich 2012 mit P.E.A.R.S („Prospective Effectiveness Assessment for Road Safety“)  ein internationales Konsortium gegründet, das vornehmlich aus Partnern aus der Automobilindustrie, wissenschaftlichen Einrichtungen sowie Universitäten (z.B. der TU Dresden) besteht. Ziel ist es dabei, eine verständliche, zuverlässige und anerkannte Simulationsmethode für die quantitative Bewertung unfallvermeidender Technologien / Fahrerassistenzsysteme zu entwickeln. Zudem soll ein ISO Standard für die vorausschauende Bewertung der Verkehrssicherheit von im Fahrzeug verbauter aktiver Fahrerassistenzsysteme erarbeitet werden – auch hier unter Einbezug von virtuellen Simulationsmethoden, die eine kostengünstige Bewertung ermöglichen sollen.

Das P.E.A.R.S. Konsortium gliedert sich insgesamt in vier Unterarbeitsgruppen, wobei ich seit November des vergangenen Jahres in Arbeitsgruppe  A (WGA) „Methods, models and effectiveness calculation“ mitarbeiten darf. Das Ziel von WGA liegt hierbei vornehmlich in der Beantwortung der folgenden drei Fragestellungen:

  1. Definition von Bewertungszielen sowie einer Vergleichsbasis („Baseline“) für die Bewertung
  2. Implementierung von virtuellen Simulationsmodellen
  3. Entwicklung von Metriken für die Schätzung der Effektivität der Sicherheitssysteme

Nachdem ich aktuell noch dabei bin, mir einen Überblick über die bereits umfangreiche Arbeit der WGA zu verschaffen, kann ich mein genaues Themenfeld zu dem aktuellen Zeitpunkt noch nicht abschließend definieren. Allerdings scheint es, als dass ich mich auch in der WGA – ähnlich wie in SePIA – mit der Vergleichbarkeit / Hochrechnung der Simulationsergebnisse für andere Regionen / Länder beschäftigen werde.

Bisher bereitet mir die Arbeit in diesem äußerst internationalen Konsortium sehr viel Freude und ich freue mich schon im März von der General Assembly in Frankfurt berichten zu dürfen. Für weiterführende Informationen / zukünftige Publikationen empfiehlt sich auf alle Fälle ein regelmäßiger Besuch der P.E.A.R.S-Homepage unter www.pearsinitiative.com!

SePIA: Szenarien-basierte Plattform zur Inspektion Automatisierter Fahrfunktionen

Im Rahmen meiner Arbeit am Lehrstuhl für Kraftfahrzeugtechnik der TU Dresden beschäftige ich mich in mehreren Projekten mit der Absicherung hochautomatisierter Fahrfunktionen. Eines davon ist SePIA (Szenarien-basierte Plattform zur Inspektion Automatisierter Fahrfunktionen), das von der europäischen Union gefördert wird und in dem eine Vielzahl von sächsischen Projektpartnern mit an Bord ist.

Hintergrund von SePIA ist, dass Fahrzeuge mit automatisierten Fahrfunktionen mindestens die Fahrfähigkeiten eines aufmerksamen menschlichen Fahrers erreichen müssen – und dies über ihre gesamte Lebenszeit hinweg. Das Hauptanliegen von SePIA ist es deshalb, eine Szenarienplattform mit Realfahrszenarien zu schaffen, die aus Unfalldatenbanken, Unfallrekonstruktionen sowie Naturalistic Driving Studies (NDS) gewonnen werden. Mithilfe der Plattform können dann hochautomatisierte Fahrfunktionen hinsichtlich ihrer Funktionstüchtigkeit sowohl bei der Entwicklung als auch z.B. bei einer späteren Hauptuntersuchung beurteilt werden. Eine Besonderheit ist dabei, dass die dargestellten Szenarien auch hinsichtlich ihrer (objektiven) Kritikalität sowie ihrer Repräsentativität für andere Regionen / Länder beurteilt werden sollen.

Mein Einsatzgebiet liegt nun vor allem in der Repräsentativitätsüberprüfung. Gemeinsam mit der Verkehrsunfallforschung an der TU Dresden wollen wir eine Methodik entwickeln, mit der wir die Gültigkeit der Plattform / des Szenarienkataloges für andere Gebiete und Länder ermitteln können – ein nicht triviales Unterfangen, da in der Plattform Stichproben / Daten aus unterschiedlichsten Erhebungen zusammengeführt werden.